Meet the Author: Q & A with Megan Braden-Perry

Buy The Cover is thrilled to welcome author Megan Braden-Perry, who recently published a children’s book, Allen the Alligator Counts Through New Orleans. This book will delight both young and old readers as Allen and his friend Gus spend a day “exploring for fun and enjoying the sun” in the best city in the world – New Orleans. This is a quick read that is best enjoyed when read aloud with the young ones. Please take a few moments to learn more about Megan and where to purchase this book.

meganbookreleasewebresAbout Megan

Megan Braden-Perry, formerly a journalist for NOLA.com | The Times-Picayune and Gambit, is a stay-at-home mom, freelance writer and photographer. She’s a New Orleans native and proud product of McDonogh No. 39 Elementary, Lusher Middle, Ben Franklin High, McDonogh No. 35 High and Dillard University.

In addition to being a mom to baby Franklin, she’s a cat mom to Ellington and a wife to Grant Capone. In her spare time, she enjoys maintaining her personal blog atwww.meganbradenperry.com.

Q & A with Megan

1. What or who was your inspiration for this book? Why a children’s book?
Children’s books are my favorite type of books and I’ve always wanted to write them. My oldest best friend (since 2nd grade in 1992), Allen Haynes, is Allen the Alligator’s namesake. I hope to have characters named for all of my friends, in order of when we became pals.
2. Who’s your favorite author? Favorite book?
Tough question. I’ll pick three, if that’s okay. First, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie by Laura Numeroff because that’s really how life is; every decision affects the next. Second, A Completely Different Place by Perry Nodleman because it was the first book I recall being glued to. Third — and this isn’t a kids’ book at all — A Piece of Cake by Cupcake Brown because I feel like she and I were presented with the same options but made different choices. Mercer Mayer is my favorite author.
3. Do you plan to write for an older audience – middle grade, young adult, new adult, etc.?
I have so many books in the prewriting stage: Christian, food, New Orleans, maybe HBCU life. I even have a book deal with a local publisher about food, but I never have time to work on it because of the baby.
4. When reading and/or writing, do you listen to music or prefer complete silence? If music, what genre?
Minnie Riperton is my muse! Whenever I can’t write, I put her music on. Bam! I’m writing. Nowadays, because I write when the baby is asleep, I can’t listen to music. Since I need to hear him, I can’t wear headphones; but since I don’t want to wake him up, I can’t play music aloud. I do need my candles though. Essential Elements by Candle-Lite are available everywhere and I love them so much. I also need to be alone with no one talking to me. My husband is a teacher and he has the TV on and is playing a game on his iPad and maybe texting a friend while working on lesson plans. Just thinking about that makes my nerves bad. I could never get any work done like that. I’ve got a futon in the sun room downstairs by my desk so I can nurse Franklin to sleep, then get work done. Bedtime is 3 a.m. if I’m working on something. As far as reading, I still don’t have a nice place to read. I’d love a little window seat, in another house.
5. Will there be any more adventures for Allen and his friends?
Absolutely! The idea for Allen the Alligator Counts Through New Orleans came to me late one night, all at once. It will be hard to do something that easy again, but I’m up for working hard writing.

Author Links

Leave a Reply

