Diverse Book Tours Presents: The Sanctum Series: The Girl/The Boy by Madhuri Blaylock

A few months ago, I reviewed books 1 & 2 of Madhuri Blaylock’s The Sanctum series, The Girl and The Boy, and absolutely loved them. I am eagerly anticipating the third book in the series. In the meantime, I had an opportunity to ask Madhuri a few questions about her writing.
1. What was your inspiration for this series?
2050300922051429My inspiration for The Sanctum was twofold: 1) I wanted to create a kickass heroine and 2) Laini Taylor. If you’re scratching your head a little, don’t fret. I’ll explain. I had been reading tons of paranormal and fantasy books with all of these great girls who were kicking ass and taking names, but they always needed a boy to kind of clue them into their full potential. I wanted a girl who knew her capabilities, powers, and purpose – getting the boy was an added bonus – and so I created Dev. Certainly there are some gaps in her knowledge, as her parents are killed without filling in every hole, but the boy she meets doesn’t hold the answers.
She’s badass and awesome and has some vulnerabilities she does her best to hide. I love her and am always rooting for her. So Dev is one inspiration, but equally important is the work of the fabulous Laini Taylor. And with her, it’s really simple – Taylor writes beautiful, fantastical, magical, moving stories and I wanted to see if I could do the same. I think I managed – I certainly found my own Liraz and Ziri in Jools and Ryker – but I’ll leave it up to the readers to be the real judge of that.

 

2.Which character in this series would you like to meet and hang out with?
Hands down, Darby Winthrop. She’s funny, sexy, smart, and deadly – what’s not to love about her? She hated Hemingway, made love to Kahlo, and drank with Bukowski. She has homes around the world, is dripping in Chanel, and knows her bourbon. She’ll make love to you all night and then kill you in the morning. She’s wise, troubled, and tormented. An artist with a Southern twang. She’s the girl I wish I had the balls to be.

 

3.Which movie adaptation would you prefer for the Sanctum – live action or animation?
Live action, no doubt. In fact, playing around with friends, I’ve already casted the film and honestly, would watch it a million times just to see Nathan Owens as Ryker Morrison. That man is flawless. And I know you didn’t ask, but I’m going to share my cast for Books I and II with you anyway, mostly because it’s fantastic and diverse and over-the-top and I love chatting with folks about it.
Here you go –
140213130817-lupita-nyongo-attends-the-14th-annual-afi-awards-luncheon-horizontal-gallery
Dev – Lupita Nyong’o
1374169246_nicholas-hoult-402
Wyatt Clayworth –  Nicholas Hoult
Ryker Morrison – Nathan Owens
Darby Winthrop – Dakota Fanning
Jools Clayworth – Emma Stone
Josiah Clayworth – Clive Owen
Sam Clayworth – Angelina Jolie
Coco – Senait Gidey
Godfrey – Gao Qi
Maya – Lisa Bonet
Philip – Mike Colter
Carter Breslin – Michael Kelly
Ava Breslin – Kate Winslet
Max Breslin – Logan Lerman
Ace Morrison – Colin Salmon
Dot Morrison – Viola Davis
Pius – Ian McKellan
Luc Arsenault – Vincent Cassel
Darvin Jefferson – Ben Barnes
Lou Bosch – Zoe Kravitz
Jedda – Arjun Rampal
Abha – Deepika Padukone
4.What should we expect in the third and final book of the Sanctum series?
In a nutshell: epic feats of all kinds of awesome badassery. Seriously. I am not playing. I think it’s really good, some of my best writing – I’m really proud of it. It’s the conclusion, so some wicked bad stuff must go down, but there are also moments of quiet, of tenderness, of downright sexiness. It’s a whole lot of death with some this and that sprinkled on top.

 

5.What happens after the Sanctum? Any future works in progress?
Funny you ask, because as much as I love Dev and Wyatt and The Sanctum, I’m already itching to start my next series. If I have to categorize it, I would say it’s a dystopian paranormal romance…do those exist? My heroine came to me in a sentence I wrote for a blog post – suddenly, she was right there, in front of me, like I had known her for a hot minute. Her counterpart is coming to me in bits and pieces, but he’s definitely floating around in my head, taking shape, coming to life. I’m excited for their story and to lose myself in another world of my creation, but first I’ve got to give Dev and Wyatt their ending.
I also plan on giving Darby her day. I’ve got her story ready to go, in three parts – I just so love me a trilogy – so it seems that even though The Sanctum Trilogy is coming to a close, there are still some stories within waiting to be told.
2205142920503009
About the Author:
Madhuri is a Jersey City Heights girl via Snellville, Georgia, who writes paranormal fiction and is slightly infatuated with tattoos, four-inch heels, ice cream, Matt Damon, scotch, Doc Martens, Laini Taylor, photo booths and dancing like a fool.
She’s currently working on The Sanctum trilogy and hopes one day soon, everyone is walking around with a copy of The Girl in their pocket or on their Kindle.
She wants to get a goat and a burro, but since she lives in the city, will settle for some chickens.
To learn more about her, you can follow her blog at @Madhuri Blaylock , follow her on Twitter at @ Madhuri Blaylock and why stop there?like her on Facebook at @ Madhuri Writes
She’s totally chatty so drop her a line any time.
dad13-add-to-goodreads-button3ISBarnes-e1409152618700ISAmazon1-e1409151482527
2 thoughts on “Diverse Book Tours Presents: The Sanctum Series: The Girl/The Boy by Madhuri Blaylock

  1. Thanks for the tour stop, Monica, and the great interview. It was loads of fun and I’ve gotta send you a huge thanks for your support. Book III is almost ready – I can’t wait to get it into your hands. Rock on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

